Gluten-Free Food Finds in America!

Food shopping was my favourite thing to do in America and in the two weeks I was there I visited a supermarket nearly every day. I was always finding exciting, new things that I wanted to try before I came home.

The supermarket we visited the most was Shoprite, a huge store with a beautiful bakery and deli. This was a fantastic shop that displayed the health advantages of products and also have colour coding for gluten free, dairy free, organic etc. This was so handy and made shopping easy for my family as they could pick out things that I could eat without having to spend time reading the packet. Below are a couple of my favourite (gluten free) food finds in America.

Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles.

It was so nice to be able to enjoy a traditional, colourful, full of sugar, American cereal that was gluten free and way more exciting than anything in England.

DSC_0141

Vans Gluten free waffles

When I saw these in the freezer I nearly cried. I miss having waffles for breakfast. I topped these with banana and maple syrup, banana and Skippy peanut butter, and banana with Hershey chocolate syrup. I wish we had a similar product in England because they were delicious.

DSC_0233   DSC_0116

DSC_0115

Lucy’s Chocolate Chip Cookies.

This tiny packet of two cookies was not enough considering how incredibly delicious they were. I could have eaten about 50 of them in one sitting. They were nice and crunchy, not crumbly and tasted so sweet and yummy.

DSC_0160

Crisps/Chips

Being able to eat Walkers (or Lays as they are known in USA) was amazing, I took them for granted before I was a coeliac and now a really miss them. My other favourite crisps were Fritos which were definitely sent from heaven and Cheetos are better than life itself. If I had to pick one food item to eat for the rest of my life it would definitely be crisps because I just can’t get enough.

I’m not sure if shopping in America was exciting because it was all new to me and I hadn’t seen or tried anything before but coming back to the UK did highlight how lucky American’s are when it comes to gluten-free foods. I can only hope that similar foods come to the UK in the future!

Leave a Reply

