Visiting America as a Coeliac

After a long two weeks in America I want to share a few of my fantastic experiences (gluten-free of course). I was staying in Effort, Pennsylvania and visited a variety of places that catered for gluten-free customers with no hesitation.

I thought I’d start off with my favourite restaurant that I enjoyed the most, Red Robin.

This place is incredible whether you are gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan or just fussy. From the beginning they made me feel like nothing was too much trouble. After asking for an allergen menu they handed me an iPad and let me choose the ingredients I wanted to avoid. This highlights all the ingredients that aren’t gluten-free in each burger and shows you the substitutes that they have. For example, you can swap any bun for a gluten-free bun or a lettuce wrap. Below is the Southern Charm burger with sweet potato fries.

11825807_10155840392130461_9006937577742223764_n

The best thing about the burgers are the gluten-free bun. It doesn’t fall apart, it wasn’t soggy, it wasn’t dry and it was very soft. But it doesn’t stop there. Both their steak fries and their sweet potato fries are gluten-free and they are unlimited. UNLIMITED FRIES! And salad and broccoli. They also wrap your burger and place a skewer in it so that the servers are aware of cross-contamination.

I would definitely recommend Red Robin for anyone in America looking for an easy gluten-free meal with plenty of delicious burger combinations. The service was fantastic and the app they use on the IPad is so handy to highlight any allergens.

If anyone has any questions about Red Robin feel free to ask.

Leave a Reply

