Gluten-Free Strawberry and Rhubarb Crisp Bars

Breakfast is a huge struggle for me, especially now I can’t just throw a piece of bread in the toaster.

So I began searching for an alternative gluten-free breakfast bar that I could make to give me a quick jump start for the day. I stumbled across a fantastic blog @ www.smittenkitchen.com with an incredible recipe for strawberry and rhubarb crisp bars. For the original recipe, click below.

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2014/05/strawberry-rhubarb-crisp-bars/

With a bag full of frozen rhubarb in the freezer and a tin of strawberries in my cupboard I decided that nothing was going to stop me turning this recipe gluten-free.

Capture

  • 80g Gluten-Free Rolled Oats
  • 110g Gluten-Free Flour (I used Doves Farm Plain Flour)
  • 1 tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 1 tsp Xanthum Gum
  • 95g Light Brown Sugar
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 85g Unsalted Butter, Melted
  • 1 tsp Cornflour
  • 1 tbsp Light Brown Sugar (to sprinkle on the fruit)
  • 155g Diced Rhubarb
  • 125g Diced Strawberries (see notes)
  • 1 tbsp Icing Sugar

First, line a baking tray or dish with parchment and turn the oven on to 170C. I’ve used various sized tins for this but found that as long as the tin isn’t ginormous, this recipe will work.

Over at Smitten Kitchen, she mixed all of the ingredients in the dish that they would be baked in, which saves time, washing up and is nice for serving and cutting at the dinner table. However, I used a bowl to mix together the oats, flour, xanthum gum, salt and light brown sugar.

Next I melted the butter in a saucepan and poured it over the dry ingredients. I felt that the mix just wasn’t combining together well so I added about a table spoon of golden syrup at this stage. This made it nice and sticky. You need to leave 1/3rd of the crumble mix to the side for the topping but press the rest into the baking tray or dish.

Strawberry and Rhubarb

Then take the diced fruit and place half of it onto the base. The sprinkle with the light brown sugar and corn flour before placing the rest of the fruit on top. To finish, sprinkle the 1/3rd of the crumble on top and place in the oven for 30-40 minutes. Once baked, slice them into squares or bars and leave them to cool.

Baked

These bars are delicious for breakfast or can be served as a dessert. My sister poured custard all over hers and exclaimed that they were the best thing I’d made in ages!

Notes

Please note that if you follow a gluten-free diet due to coeliac disease, you may not be able to eat gluten-free oats as they may also make you ill. It is best to check with your dietician.

I have tried to make these bars using both fresh and tinned strawberries. I was concerned that the tinned strawberries may make the bars too soft and hard to hold but actually, it wasn’t any softer than the bars I made with the fresh strawberries! The main difference was the colour, fresh strawberries create a much brighter pink.

Leave a Reply

